• Enerhodar, 20 March. Protest against the abduction of the deputy mayor, Ivan Samoidiuk

    An appeal by mayors and local government officials in the UK

    We, elected mayors and other local government representatives, condemn the reign of terror in areas of Ukraine occupied by the Russian army. We demand an end to the use of kidnapping, arbitrary imprisonment and other violence against mayors, local government representatives, journalists, civic activists and other civilians.

    We condemn attempts by the Russian army and security services to destroy elected local government structures and replace them with their own appointees. We declare  our solidarity with those who resist such blows against democracy, freedom of representation and freedom of speech.

    We call on the United Nations, the Organisation for Security and Cooperation in Europe, and other international bodies urgently to protest to the Russian government.  

    To the best of our ability, we will take the following actions, and we appeal to mayors and local government representatives here in the UK, and in other countries, to join us:

    1. To record all cases of human rights abuses against mayors and local government representatives in areas of Ukraine occupied by Russian forces.

    2. To offer material and legal support to mayors and local government representatives whose human rights are abused.

    3. To campaign internationally in support of Ukrainian mayors and local government representatives whose human rights are abused, and publicise each and every breach of human rights and attack on democracy.

    Mick Antoniw, Member of the Welsh parliament for Pontypridd, Welsh Labour
    Siân Berry, London Assembly member, Greens
    Ralph Berry, Councillor for Wibsey Ward, Bradford MDC, Labour Co op
    Jo Bird, Councillor for Bromborough, Wirral, Greens
    Dawn Bowden, Member of the Welsh parliament for Merthyr Tydfil and Rhymney, Welsh Labour
    Adrian Brown, Councillor for Bandley Hill, Stevenage
    Joanne Calvert, Councillor for Old Swan, Liverpool
    Alison Clarke, Councillor for Knotty Ash, Liverpool, Labour
    Emily Clarke, Councillor for Lewes Castle Ward, Lewes Town Council, Labour
    Pat Cleary, Councillor, Birkenhead and Tranmere, Leader of the Greens on Wirral Council
    Karen Constantine, Deputy leader Kent County Council, Labour
    Robert Cooke, Baird Ward, Hastings, Conservative
    Alun Davies, Member of the Welsh parliament for Blaenau Gwent
    Jan Davis, Councillor for Brundall, Broadland, Norfolk, Green Party
    Maureen Delahunty-Kehoe, Councillor for County, Liverpool, Labour
    Paul English, Councillor, Arun District Council (Felpham East)
    Lucy Galvin, Norwich City Council, Green group leader
    Osh Gantly, Councillor for Highbury East, London Borough of Islington, Labour
    Alan Gibbons, Councillor for Warbreck, Liverpool, Labour
    Emily Gleaves, Councillor for Birkenhead and Tranmere
    Harry Gorman, Councillor for Prenton ward, Wirral Council, Greens
    Sam Gorst, Councillor for Cressington, Liverpool, independent
    Alfie Hincks, Councillor for Everton, Liverpool, Labour
    Richard Kemp CBE, Leader, Liverpool Liberal Democrats
    Patrick Kitterick, Councillor for Castle Ward, Leicester City Council
    Barry Kushner, Councillor for Norris Green, Liverpool, Labour
    Sue Lukes, Councillor for Highbury East, London Borough of Islington, Labour
    Barbara Mace, Councillor for Woolton and Gateacre, Liverpool, Liberal Democrat
    Graham Mayhew, Councillor (Priory Ward), Lewes Town Council, Independent
    Pat Moloney, Councillor for Childwall ward, Liverpool, Liberal Democrat
    Andrew Morgan, Leader, Rhondda Cynon Taf County Borough Council
    Julie Morgan, Member of the Welsh parliament for Cardiff North
    Sarah Murphy, Welsh Labour Member of the Senedd for Bridgend
    Paul Neale, Norfolk County Councillor, Greens
    Rhianon Passmore, Member of the Welsh parliament for Islwyn
    Simon Pearson, Councillor for Swiss Cottage, London Borough of Camden
    Zack Polanski, London Assembly member, Greens
    Steve Powderhill, Councillor (presiding member), Rhondda Cynon Taff County Borough Council
    Dave Poyser, Councillor for Hillrise, London Borough of Islington, Labour
    David Rees, Member of the Welsh parliament for Aberavon, Welsh Labour
    Anna Rothery, Councillor for Princes Park, Liverpool, independent
    Caroline Russell, London Assembly member, Greens
    Lena Simic, Councillor for Anfield, Liverpool, Labour
    Ken Skates, Member of the Welsh parliament for Clwyd South
    David Stanley, Councillor for Kidbrooke Hornfair, Royal Borough of Greenwich, Labour
    Ed Stubbs Councillor for Splott and Tremorfa, Cardiff Council, Labour
    Jason Walsh, Councillor for Bebington, Brighton, Green party
    Lorcan Whitehead, Councillor (New Town & Christ Church Ward), Colchester Borough Council, Labour
    Liz Withington, Councillor, North Norfolk district Council and Sheringham Town Council

    7 April 2022 (up to date 1 May)

    To add your name to this letter, please email 2022ukrainesolidarity[at]gmail.com.

    A similar appeal has been signed by members of parliament, mayors and other elected officials in Switzerland. See here

    More information ○○○○○ About this site